The Mside Admissions Guy

Road Trips and Iowa Private College Week

road-trip

I love road trips. For those who have been “lucky” or “unfortunate” enough (depending on how you look at it) to travel with me, you know you’re always in for a bit of an adventure; I usually end up missing at least one turn or exit per trip due to sightseeing, being distracted with conversation, or more often than not, getting lost in deep thought (which others sometimes refer to as “spacing out”). I just want those who will be traveling with me in the future to know that my days of bad navigation will soon be over thanks to a handy gadget my father-in-law let me borrow for a recent road trip with my dad.

On Sunday my dad and I went to a Kansas City Royals game. We are not fans of the Royals, but my sister hooked us up with tickets in the third row behind home plate; there was no way we were going to pass these seats up! It turned out to be a beautiful day for a baseball game, 88 degrees and sunny, but the Royals ended up losing the game to the Rangers 7-2, go figure. The game was actually scoreless until the seventh inning when we learned that the Royals second baseman would have preferred overcast to the sunshine. :) Watch the game recap to see what I mean…

Anyway, to minimalize my wrong turns and missed exits my dad decided to print off a google map with turn by turn directions for the trip. Once we reached Kansas City and its multiple lanes of crazy traffic, however, we realized flipping through a bunch of papers and a road map wasn’t going to help much. It was at this time I decided to use the gadget my father-in-law let me take along, a Garmin GPS, and it guided us safely and accurately the rest of the way to the stadium. My dad and I had known about GPS systems like my father-in-law’s for a long time, but this was our first real experience with one. Let’s just say we’ve both started our Christmas list a little early this year.

MY NEW LOVE – How I feel about the Garmin.

You may be asking yourself why I’m talking about traveling in today’s post. Well, if you’re a prospective student or a parent of one it’s time to start printing your directions, pulling out your maps, and firing up your GPS if you have one, because Iowa Private College Week begins next Monday, August 3rd!

ROAD TRIP!
Iowa Private College Weekipcw2

The following (in green) is a brief synopsis of Iowa Private College Week taken from one of my previous posts.
In case you don’t know, Iowa Private College Week is a week long event that takes place the first week of August (August 3-7, 2009). During Iowa Private College Week all Private Colleges in Iowa will offer two daily visit sessions, one starting at 9:00 am, and the other at 1:30 pm, for visitors to attend and learn more about what each college has to offer. Not only is it the perfect opportunity for high school students and their families to visit many different colleges in a short amount of time, but if they attend three or more colleges during the week and mail in their Iowa Private College Week passport they will be entered into a drawing for a $500 bookstore gift certificate. Each of the 30 colleges is giving away two bookstore certificates.

Morningside’s Event
Every college’s Iowa Private College Week event will be different, and over the years we have heard some great things about ours from our guests. I would love to share our unique theme with you; but I’m going to leave it a surprise for those of you who choose to visit next week.

However, here are a few things I can tell you about our event… if you visit you’ll learn a lot about us in a short amount of time, you’ll get to personally meet the admissions counselor who will be assisting you with your college search throughout the year, and you’ll also get to meet a professor in the academic area of your choice. I’d like to point out that not every college is lucky enough to have their professors on campus to meet with visitors during Iowa Private College Week. We’re so glad that our professors truly enjoy visiting with possible future students about their academic area, and that they take their own personal time to come back to campus for our event. It’s just another example of what we know makes Morningside College a great place; the people – our faculty, staff, students, and alumni.

If you’re a high school student (or parent) make sure to mark your calendar for this event.
To learn more about our event, and register to attend a session at Morningside click here.
We look forward to seeing you on campus!

To learn more about Iowa Private College Week (and the other colleges involved) please visit the link below.
http://www.thinkindependently.com/

Thanks for reading this post. We look forward to having another great Iowa Private College Week, and we wish safe travels to everyone who will be out and about across the state next week!

FOLLOW THE MSIDE ADMISSIONS GUY!
By clicking the link below you can subscribe to my blog and you will receive an email update whenever I publish a new post. It’s the easiest way to follow The Mside Admissions Guy!
Subscribe to The Mside Admissions Guy by Email

Filed under: Events, Just for fun

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

