The Mside Admissions Guy

World Cup Raffle Contest Winners, a “Main Dish”, and P.S. – I still hate the Yankees

This morning I randomly selected the winners of our World Cup Raffle Contest. Our grand prize winner was Claire Gibbons, an incoming freshman from Duluth, Minnesota. Second place went to current Morningside soccer player, Jeremy Lenz, and third place went to current Morningside student Ismael Valadez. (You can see how we selected our winners by watching the short video, “The Drawing”, I posted to our fan page. – 1 minute 56 seconds.)

Click the image to view the video - The music in the video is one of my new favorite songs, "Chelsea Dagger", which I first heard blared during the Stanley Cup playoffs whenever the Chicago Blackhawks would score a goal. I's a tough song to get out of your head! :)

I don’t have much to tell you today, except that I’m really excited for two events… first, the MLB All-Star Game is tonight – which the American League will dominate, of course. Then, tomorrow, our annual “All Campus Potluck” is taking place for our Morningside College faculty and staff. I only have one minor concern… I have no idea what I should bring! As you can see in the flyer below – in case you’re unaware of my last name, it’s Braunschweig. :) – I’m supposed to bring a main dish… Any suggestions? An email, Facebook message, or blog comment would be greatly appreciated.

Anyway, I’ll do my best to bring something everyone will enjoy, and I’ll also try to take a few pictures of the event to share with you in another short blog post or Fan Page update later this week. Hope everyone has a great night!

The Mside Admissions Guy
– Jim Braunschweig

P.S. – It’s true. I despise the Yankees. But because all the Yankee fans out there are mourning the loss of the person most responsible for making them what they are today – a major league power house, I won’t rip on them today. Instead, I’m going to give Yankee fans something they already know to be true of most other “haters” like me out there, and something that should bring a smile back to all Yankee fans reading this; the real reason I’ve never liked the Yankees. “I hate the Yankees… because they are SO damn good.” :) Rest in peace Mr. Steinbrenner.

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. Jeremy Meyers says:

    Jim,
    As someone who will be attending the all campus pot luck I think we should open it up to a vote to see what you should bring tomorrow. I vote for Prime Rib!!!

  2. Gene o says:

    Sooooooooooo, the American League shall dominate? And the score was? I’m with Jeremy – bring prime rib!

    • msideadmissions says:

      ok, ok, so my baseball predictions have been terrible this year… I also said Ken Griffey Jr. would get his ring as the Mariners would go on to win the World Series, and now this… I think I’m a jinx. NO PRIME RIB.

  3. char says:

    I too don’t love the Yankees and am married to a Yankee fan – are you aware that President Reynders is a huge Yankee fan – how can a man who makes so many great decisions pick this team?

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other subscribers